15 May 2020

EUROPEAN RESEARCH INFRASTRUCTURES

for a Smarter Future

Digital Conference







Agenda

09:00 - 10:00 **Registration**

10:00 – 10:15 **Opening Session**

Welcome

Blaženka Divjak

Minister for Science and Education, Croatia

Introduction to the agenda

Croatian Presidency

10:15 - 10:30 Evolution of the European Research Area

Mariya Gabriel

European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth

10:30 - 11:30 Research Infrastructures and the European strategic agendas - Green Deal and Energy Transition

Setting the scene

Barbara Weitgruber

Director General for Scientific Research and International Relations at the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science and Research

Panel Discussion

Moderator

Inmaculada Figueroa

Vice Deputy Director General for the Internationalisation of Science and Innovation, Ministry of Science and Innovation, Spain, ESFRI Vice-Chair

Speakers

Christos Arvanitidis

CEO, LIFEWATCH-ERIC

Sverre Quale

Director, ECCSEL ERIC

Tonci Tadic

Head of Croatian fusion unit. Ruđer Bošković Institute

Jana Kolar

Executive Director, CERIC-ERIC

11:30 - 12:30 Research Infrastructures for Regional Development

Setting the scene

Karina Angelieva

Deputy Minister of Education and Science, Bulgaria

Panel Discussion

Moderator

Anna Panagopoulou

Director 'Common Implementation Centre', DG Research and Innovation, European Commission

Speakers

Sanja Damjanovic

Minister of Science of Montenegro and Chairperson of the SEEIIST Steering Committee

István Szabó

Vice-President for Science and International Affairs, National Research, Development and Innovation Office of Hungary

Markus Dettenhofer

Chief Executive Officer, CEITEC, Czech Republic

Karen Amram

Director for Europe & International foresight, CEA Technology Research Unit, Chair of the HIGH LEVEL FORUM - Grenoble Innovation Campus

Luciano Catani

Department of Research, Ministry of University and Research, Italy

12:30 - 13:30 Lunch Break

13:30 – 14:30 Research Infrastructures in the fight against COVID-19

Setting the scene

ERAvsCORONA

Henriette Van Eijl

Deputy Head of Unit 'Economic and Social Transitions', DG Research and Innovation, European Commission

Panel Discussion

Moderator

Yannis Ioannidis

President and General Director at Athena Research and Innovation Center, Professor of Informatics & Telecom at Nat. Kapodistrian University of Athens, ESFRI Vice-Chair

Speakers

Jean-Louis Romette

Universite Aix Marseille, European Virus Archive

Antonio Andreu

Scientific Director, EATRIS

Niklas Blomberg

Director, ELIXIR

Caterina Biscari

Director, ALBA Synchrotron, LEAPS Chair

14:30 - 15:30

Making Science Happen a new ambition for Research Infrastructures

ESFRI White Paper presentation

Jan Hrusak

ESFRI Chair

Panel Discussion

Moderator

Johannes Klumpers

Head of Unit 'Research and industrial infrastructures', DG Research and Innovation, European Commission

Speakers

Giorgio Rossi

Università degli Studi di Milano Statale, EOSC Governing Board Member

David Bohmert

Secretary General, CESAER

Sandrine Dixson-Declève

Co-President of the Club of Rome, Chair of the Expert group on the economic and societal impact of research and innovation

John Womersley

Director General at European Spallation Source ERIC, Chair of the ERIC Forum

Break

15:30 - 15:45

15:45 - 17:00

European Research Infrastructures for a smarter future Policy Panel

Moderator

Jean-Eric Paquet

Director General, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission

Speakers

Tome Antičić

State Secretary for Science and Education, Croatia

Dietrich Nelle

Deputy Head of Directorate-General 1 "Policy Issues and Strategies; Coordination", Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Germany

Jose Paulo Esperanca

Vice-President, Foundation for Science and Technology, Portugal

Jure Gašparič

State Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Sport, Slovenia

Václav Velčovský

Deputy Minister for EU Affairs and European Structural and Investment Funds, Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports, Czech Republic

Conference conclusions

17:00 - 17:15

Croatian Presidency